Digital Security Technician

Gold Hatched

Card information

The ECS Digital Security Technician card is designed for those with a working knowledge of front-line digital security measures in a number of areas including cyber security, vulnerability testing, threat analysis, audit and analytics, access management, or disaster recovery at a Level 3 technical or above standard. 

A Digital Security Technician (Gold Hatched) has the knowledge and understanding to provide an organisation with the necessary insight and understanding, likely as part of a managed team, to apply principles of digital security management, risk mitigation or disaster recovery.

There are a number of disciplines and qualification routes relevant to these cards which include: 

  • Digital Forensics
  • Cryptography & Communications Security 
  • Cyber Security Management
  • Incident Response
  • Network Monitoring & Intrusion Detection
  • Vulnerability Management
  • Penetration Testing
  • Cyber Threat Intelligence
  • Identity & Access Management
  • Secure Architecture
  • Cyber Security Auditing
  • Data Protection & Privacy
  • Secure System Development
  • Cyber Governance, Risk, and Compliance
  • Secure Operations
  • Cloud Security
  • ICS / SCADA Security

Eligibility and requirements

To be eligible for one of the two card types under this occupation, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Level 3 or 4 technical qualifications in a relevant discipline 
    • This includes a range of BTEC awards and certifications from CompTIA, GIAC, ISACA, OffSec and others approved by the ECS Steering Committee - see the right column or bottom of this page for full list
  • Hold a current ECS Health, Safety and Environmental Assessment. For details visit the ECS H&S Assessment page

Apply Now