Digital Security Technician (Gold)


Card information

The ECS Digital Security Technician card is designed for those applying front line digital security measures to protect for an organisation, including cyber security, vulnerability testing, threat analysis, audit and analytics, access management, or disaster recovery at a Level 3 and above industry standard. 

Digital Security Technicians work with autonomy, influence, and contribute fully to the work of teams, potentially with supervisory responsibilities, to provide mitigation against risks arising from network and intrusion security threats, for information gathering and analysis, and for management of appropriate software solutions for these purposes. 

There are a number of disciplines and qualification routes relevant to these cards which include: 

  • Digital Forensics
  • Cryptography & Communications Security 
  • Cyber Security Management
  • Incident Response
  • Network Monitoring & Intrusion Detection
  • Vulnerability Management
  • Penetration Testing
  • Cyber Threat Intelligence
  • Identity & Access Management
  • Secure Architecture
  • Cyber Security Auditing
  • Data Protection & Privacy
  • Secure System Development
  • Cyber Governance, Risk, and Compliance
  • Secure Operations
  • Cloud Security
  • ICS / SCADA Security

Eligibility and requirements

To be eligible for the Digital Security Technician (Gold) card, applicants must meet the following criteria: 

1. You must have successfully completed one of the following:

  • A level 3 or above apprenticeship or VQ Level 3 in a relevant discipline including: 
    • Level 3 Apprenticeship Standard - Cyber Security Technician 
    • Level 4 Apprenticeship Standard - Cyber Intrusion Analyst 
    • Level 4 Apprenticeship Standard - Cyber Security Technologist 
  • CompTIA Security+ 
  • CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst+
  • CompTIA PenTest+
2. Hold a current ECS Health, Safety and Environmental Assessment. For details please visit the ECS H&S Assessment page. 

Apply Now