Experienced Worker (EWA)

White with Brown Stripe

Card information

The Experienced Worker card (with a brown stripe) is for applicants that have a JIB recognised level 3 technical certificate, but do not yet have a full industry qualification such as NVQ Level 3.
This card will only be valid for 18 months and cannot be renewed. This is to reflect the fact that the card is only issued to people who need to complete the formal industry qualification to meet the requirements of an ECS gold card and plan to do this within the next 18 months.
You will need to qualify to gold card standard (such as an NVQ Level 3) during the life of this card if you wish to upgrade to a gold card - this can be done via an Experienced Worker Assessment.

These assessments are available in a number of occupations. Details on the Installation or Domestic Electrician Experienced Worker Assessments can be found on The Electrotechnical Skills Partnership (TESP) website.

Eligibility and requirements

To qualify for an Experienced Worker ECS card you need to meet the following criteria:

  1. You must provide proof of a JIB recognised level 3 electrotechnical theory qualification (please see right hand column on this page for this list)
  2. Hold a current ECS Health, Safety and Environmental Assessment. For details visit the ECS HS&E Assessment page.

Apply Now