Emergency & Security Systems Commissioning - Level 3


Card information

Please Note: ECS Emergency & Security Systems cards are being replaced by the Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) cards.

However, this ECS card is being retained, and will continue to be available, for current cardholders and new applicants that have completed the industry sector apprenticeship and hold the qualifications listed in the Eligibility and Requirements section below. 

If you do not have the exact qualifications for this card you will need to meet the requirements of a Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) card.

For more details please see the Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) information page.

The Emergency & Security Systems Commissioning ECS card is for operatives who have gained the industry level 3 qualification and are diagnosing, maintaining and commissioning security and emergency systems.

Working at this level typically involves carrying out the following duties unsupervised:

  • apply security system specification to physical installation and customer requirements
  • establish operational feasibility of security and emergency systems
  • install a complete system; install and test security system equipment which uses data transmission protocols
  • commission and handover operational security systems
  • audit installed security and emergency systems
  • diagnose causes of faults
  • rectify and restore
  • apply on-site security and emergency systems installation safety statutes and relevant regulations

Eligibility and requirements

To be eligible for this card, applicants must:

1.  Have successfully completed an Approved Apprenticeship in Emergency and Security Systems

2. Hold a current ECS Health, Safety and Environmental Assessment. For details visit the ECS H&S Assessment page.

Apply Now