FESS Systems Technician (Gold)


Card information

The ECS Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) Systems Technician gold ECS card is for operatives that have gained an industry recognised level 3 apprenticeship, or equivalent standard, in Fire, Emergency and Security Systems. This includes apprenticeships across England, Wales and Northern Ireland. 

Working at this level typically involves carrying out duties unsupervised that include installation and maintenance of FESS systems.

Eligibility and requirements

To be eligible for this card, applicants must:

Have successfully completed all parts of the industry level 3 Fire, Emergency and Security Systems  Apprenticeship Standard (including the relevant end point assessment of competence).


Have successfully completed all parts of a level 3 apprenticeship in Fire, Emergency and Security Systems or pathway in one or more of these disciplines, or equivalent qualification route, such as the EAL NVQ Level 3 Diploma in Providing Electronic Fire and Security Systems 


The full scope of the FESS Experienced Worker Assessment in their chosen pathway.


2. Hold a current ECS Health, Safety and Environmental Assessment.

For details about the ECS Health, Safety and Environmental Assessment visit the HS&E Assessment page.

Experienced Worker Assessment 

Experienced Worker Assessments are being run by training providers approved by either BPEC or EAL Awards. These are assessments for experienced FESS Systems Technicians who do not hold relevant qualifications or training and wish to be assessed to Gold card standard. A list of centres delivering these assessments will be available here as and when these are confirmed. 

If you are interested in this Experienced Worker Assessment route, please contact one of the following organisations: 

Apply Now