Fire Detection & Alarm Systems Commissioning - Level 3


Card information

Please Note: ECS Fire Detection and Alarm System cards are being replaced by the Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) cards.

However, this ECS card is being retained, and will continue to be available, for current cardholders and new applicants that have completed the industry sector apprenticeship and hold the qualifications listed in the Eligibility and Requirements section below. 

If you do not have the exact qualifications for this card you will need to meet the requirements of a Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) card.

For more details please see the Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) information page.

The Fire Detection & Alarm Systems Commissioning ECS card is for operatives that have gained the industry level 3 qualification in commissioning.

Working at this level typically involves carrying out the following duties unsupervised:

  • assessment of fire risks
  • choice of detectors and/or suppression media
  • understanding of safety issues
  • effective working relationships
  • installation of fire protection systems.

Eligibility and requirements

To be eligible for this card, applicants must:

1. Have successfully completed an Approved Apprenticeship in Fire Detection & Alarm Systems

2. Hold a current ECS Health, Safety and Environmental Assessment. For details visit the ECS H&S Assessment page.

Apply Now