Fire Detection & Alarm Systems Designer - Level 3


Card information

The Fire Detection & Alarm Systems Designer ECS card is for operatives that have gained the industry level 3 qualification in design.

Working at this level typically involves carrying out the following duties unsupervised:

  • assessment of fire risks
  • choice of detectors and/or suppression media
  • understanding of safety issues
  • effective working relationships
  • installation of fire protection systems.

Eligibility and requirements

To be eligible for this card, applicants must:

1. Meet ONE of the following criteria:

  • Have successfully completed an Approved Apprenticeship in Fire Detection & Alarm Systems
  • Level 3 NVQ  in Providing Security, Emergency & Alarm Systems (1882) or (1866)

2. Hold a current ECS Health, Safety and Environmental Assessment. For details visit the ECS H&S Assessment page

Apply Now