Network Support Technician

Gold Hatched

Card information

The ECS Network Support Technician card is designed for those with a working knowledge of and understanding of physical and virtual networks at a Level 3 technical or above standard to help manage, build, or maintain networks. 

A Network Support Technician (Gold Hatched) has the knowledge and understanding to provide an organisation with the necessary insight and understanding, likely as part of a managed team, to help resolve both hardware and software issues, ensure downtime on service is minimised and communicate effectively with the customer.

There are a number of disciplines and qualification routes relevant to these cards which include: 

  • Data Centre Operations
  • Digital Communications
  • ICT Systems and Principles 
  • Intelligence Analysis
  • Mobile and Operating Systems
  • Networking, Network Systems and Architecture 
  • Network or Cyber Security 
  • Network Principles
  • Programming 
  • Software Development
  • User Skills 
  • Wireless Infrastructure 

Eligibility and requirements

To be eligible for one of the two card types under this occupation, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Level 3 or 4 technical qualifications in a relevant discipline 
    • This includes a range of BTEC awards and certifications from CompTIA, Amazon, Cisco, VMware, Linux and others approved by the ECS Steering Committee - see the list on the right column or bottom of this page for full list
  • Hold a current ECS Health, Safety and Environmental Assessment. For details visit the ECS H&S Assessment page

Apply Now