Card information

New requirements are in place for ECS Manager card applications and renewals - see below for full details.  

The following management occupations are available:

  • Electrical Site Manager
  • Electrical Contract Manager
  • Site Manager
  • Project Manager
  • Contract Manager

Eligibility and requirements

If you are making an initial application for an ECS Managers card you will need to meet both Technical and Health & Safety qualification requirements plus hold an ECS HS&E assessment.

1. Technical Requirement

You must meet one of the following technical requirements:

Route 1: If you have or meet gold card requirements

If you already meet the current requirements of an ECS gold card in your discipline / occupation, you are eligible to apply for a Manager’s card. You will also need a Health & Safety qualification as described below.

Route 2: Level 4 management qualification

You can also apply for a Manager’s card with a UK management qualification at Level 4 or above such as BTEC, Management diploma or degree. You will also need a Health & Safety qualification as described below.

2. Health & Safety qualification requirements  

As well as meeting the technical requirements, outlined above in route 1 or route 2, you will also need to hold a UK Health and Safety qualification at Level 4 or above such as:
  • CCNSG Safety Passport - Supervising / Leading a Team Safety Course
  • CITB Site Supervisor Safety Training Scheme (SSSTS)
  • CITB Site Management Safety Training Scheme (SMSTS)
  • COSAC Safe2Site Supervision Training (S2SST)
  • NEBOSH Diploma in Occupational Safety
  • UK Degree level Health and Safety qualification

You will also need to sit a separate ECS HS&E Assessment unless: 

  • You completed one of the eligible CITB, CCNSG, or NEBOSH courses listed above within the past 3 years
  • Or, you have completed another course listed under the Exemptions on this page within the past 3 years
Please Note: Following a decision of CSCS to withdraw recognition of certain IOSH courses, ECS has also suspended recognition while IOSH develop updated verification processes, This applies to any IOSH course certificates issued after 31st August 2023. This will apply to all cards and all exemption routes. Read more

Existing Cardholders:

Your existing card is still valid until its expiry date.

Why are these changes being made? 

The Construction Leadership Council, the body which drives industry improvement, has announced that nationally-recognised qualifications should be in place for all construction-related occupations by 2020. In recognition of this, CSCS has changed its partnership criteria and so the ECS has made these changes, in order to meet the new requirements. The JIB supports the introduction of appropriate qualifications for Managers, as part of the overall drive to raise standards across the electrotechnical industry.

Apply Now