Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS)

FESS Industry ECS Cards

An Occupational Qualification Structure has been developed by The Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) industry by a sector working group formed of trade associations and employer representatives with an industry consultation. The structure aligns with the future of the Fire, Emergency and Security Systems sector and also addresses the fragmented skills within the current workforce.

Following the launch of the Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) apprenticeship standard and the setting of the qualification requirement at Level 3 for new entrants to the FESS industry, an Occupational Qualification Structure leading to a relevant ECS card has been developed.

Whilst the benchmark for new entrants into the FESS industry has been set at Level 3, a route which can recognise differences in training, experience or qualifications for those already in the industry has been developed, thus recognising a minimum standard for those who install and maintain fire, emergency and security systems.

These changes have been brought in to further the FESS industries' desire to professionalise the sector and to meet the Construction Leadership Council's move to ensure that all CSCS partnered cards are issued against an industry recognised qualification standard in place by the end of 2020.

An overview of the FESS Industry Qualification Structure is avaialble here.

There are four sector disciplines recognised in Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) industry:
  • Fire 
  • Fire and Emergency Lighting 
  • Security 
  • Fire and Security 
Each FESS sector has occupations that are recognised within the Electrotechnical Certification Scheme (ECS):
  • Systems Operative
  • Systems Technician
  • Technical Manager
In addition, there are also ECS cards for the FESS occupations of:
  • Labourer
  • Trainee
  • Apprentice
  • Technical Auditor 
Details about the FESS Industry ECS Cards are available from our FESS Card Types page